What Does Marriage Mean to Me

I wish I could paint an adequate picture of what marriage is, but just this post (and, honestly, probably many others) will be my current contribution. 

 
Actually, let me tell you what it doesn’t mean to me.

It doesn’t mean I get to be the same person I was when I was single. 

It doesn’t mean I can say what I want and not expect negative consequences.

It doesn’t mean I married or bought a blank canvas where I can make it what I want.

It doesn’t mean I can be friends with whomever I want.

It doesn’t mean I can leave my home whenever I want, or without letting someone know.

It doesn’t mean I should care more about others than I do about the person I chose to share the rest of my life with. 

It doesn’t mean my indulgences don’t affect anyone else but myself.

It doesn’t mean I will be treated like the queen for the rest of my life. 

It doesn’t mean I can be offended about everything.

It just doesn’t mean anything selfish.

Marriage does mean:

Work.

Grit.

Stability.

Communicating. Constantly.

Changing. Consistently.

Loving. Unconditionally.

Leave a Reply

